OffBeat Music: The 2010 American Music Awards

Posted on November 23, 2010

1


For three hours on Sunday, I was engrossed simultaneously to my computer, the TV and my phone. On the TV was the American Music Awards 2010, on the computer was Sunday Night Football in America between the NY Giants and Philadelphia Eagles and on my phone, I was tweeting about both events. Multi-tasking at its highest, I’m that good baby. Lol. I am only here however to give you a recap of the AMA’s in case you missed it.

The night started off with Rihanna, barely clothed and attempting to sing. Gosh my ears were hurting. For as long as I live I will never understand her appeal and how she is able to sell concert tickets. I can understand selling a CD because of all the sound editing that goes into it, but not a concert. My male friends explain to me that the issue with her voice is common knowledge but she looks good, and can move her hips. Hmmmmppphhhh. She did go home with the award for best female R &B artist.

Next to perform was Enrique Iglesias who brought Pitbull on to the stage with him. You don’t realize how good some of these artists are until you hear them perform. His voice was smooth albeit a lil shaky and dude refuses to get older, he looks sexier than ever. He was beat out by Shakira in the Latin Music Favorite artist category.

I happen to like Miley Cyrus by the way, and I happened to like this performance, the song choice and the fact that she chose to stay clothed. She was one of the few whose vocals were actually good last night.

Then it was Diddy and his crew ‘Dirty Money’ next to perform. Let’s just say, and this is my opinion, that it was a forgettable performance. I really like the song they performed, ‘I’m Coming Home’, but they ruined it. It was back to the football game on my computer for me at this point.

I’m from Michigan and so you already know I am a Kid Rock lover. I love, his love for a state that ranks lowest in every category possible in America. His tribute to the city was very touching and I was so proud of him.

Surprisingly, and I say that because I love them, I did not like the Black Eyed Peas‘ performance or maybe I just don’t really like the song, either ways it wasn’t working for me. They did go home with the AMA for Pop/Rock Music – Favorite Band, Duo or Group.

Katy Perry also took to the stage joined by a choir made up of little children, a ploy I reckon was to pacify the world over the Sesame Street hoopla. I don’t know if it worked but hey! She is a decent performer though, but her voice was not quite great, at this point I’m thinking the microphone is to blame.

The night absolutely belonged to the next performer though and I think no one was shocked, hence the fact it was the lowest rated broadcast in AMA history. Justin Bieber is who I speak of, winner of four AMA’s: Pop/Rock Music – Favorite Male Artist, Pop/Rock Music – Favorite Album: My World 2.0, T-Mobile Breakthrough Artist of the Year and the coveted Artist of the Year. I think he has reached puberty though and his voice is cracking, at least that’s what I choose to believe is the reason why he sounded the way he did.

Bon Jovi has to be one of my favorite band of all times and I loved their medley of ‘What Do You Got?/You Give Love A Bad Name/It’s My Life’ . Sooooo cool, definitely one of the highlights of the night for me.

Pink is a beast and a creative genius to me. She is awesome and no one can tell me otherwise. I love this woman and watching her shake her booty while pregnant was so cute.

I bet a lot of time was spent rehearsing for Ne-yo’s performance. Very theatrical but somehow I wasn’t impressed. I couldn’t quite place what I was displeased with though, it just seemed like too much was going on.

Just not a fan of Taylor Swift even though I can’t help but agree that she has some good songs. She looked good and this was one of her better performances vocally but can she quit with the Kanye West references already? She went home with the award for Country Female Artist.

So it might just be me, but Christian Aguilera really failed to hit the mark last night. She looked fat; the performance lacked energy and was she lip syncing there a lot? Hmm Britney Spears reminder anyone?

I hate to say this but I think Usher is nearing retirement. First off, the performance looked identical to the last award show he performed at (I forget the name now), he loses his breath so much jumping up and down and he has lost his ability to sing. Shoutout to Swedish House Mafia though, Love them. Usher went home with the awards for Soul R&B Album and Artist.

My love for the group Train knows no bound, their performance of ‘Hey, Soul Sister‘ with the cute lil black girl with nappy hair (lol, I’m just saying, you know you thought the same thing) was my second favorite of the night.

Kesha, Kesha, Kesha. I have no words for this lady. The way I look at it, I like the person who writes the songs and sings them and I love the songs but I hate to see her and would rather forget that it was her actually singing, kinda like how I feel about Nicki Minaj.

The Carlos Santana/Gavin Rossdale duet was an EPIC FAIL. It just did not work. Fortunately for you, you don’t have to find out why, because it seems no one bothered to record that bit.

And for the last but definitely not the least, the most anticipated performance of the night, and the reason why I watched this show in the first place, we had (and drum roll please) NKOTB and BSB. New Kids On The Block and Back Street Boys came together to bring us a medley of songs I remember dancing to as a teenager which seems like a lifetime ago now. The way everyone knew the songs, you understood how significant they were to pop culture and music. It was definitely a good way to end the night.

So maybe the 2010 AMAs were not a total waste of three hours, I loved the fact that most of the presenters where lead actors and actresses from current ABC shows and there was no Kanye Moment, no obvious gaffes and the fact that they did not have a host was a good look for me.

To see the complete list of winners and pictures go to http://abc.go.com/shows/american-music-awards

So Till Next Time

Peace and Love

Neefemi

Posted in: Uncategorized