Teach me how to Dougie

Posted on September 3, 2010

1


Yes I know my titles are mostly random. I like it. It’s a reflection of my random mind hehe. So I’ve been racking my brain on what to write. Earlier this week I thought I would write on the fragility of life [snooze] or the fickleness of love [yawn]. However right this minute the only thing on my mind is teach me how to dougie. I heard that song yesterday and that beat is in my head! Teach me how to dougie…teach me how to dougieeee. The beat is massive. Love it. Can’t wait to groove to it. Lol…its on and popping in club duvet tonight! Hollaaaaa.

As random as this may sound, ladies and gentlemen…that’s all we need in life. Life is short, life has heartache and pain. That’s why we need to laugh at every opportunity we get, sing as loud as we can, dance till our feet hurt.

Money, money, money. Hustle, hustle, hustle. When does it stop? When do we stop? I don’t know if it’s just me but sometimes I think to myself I can be so ungrateful. Like you know when you pray and hope something good comes your way and it comes and you offer a quick prayer of gratitude to God and then you ask…’’err Lord, You forgot the ketchup’’. Like Lord thank You for this burger but please where is the salad. Then you begin to worry, where is this salad? Why didn’t I get this salad? Until you forget all about the steaming burger in front of you because you are looking for this imaginary salad. Are you still with me? No? Its ok…it will make sense to you….or not #shrug

Ok on a serious note, what I’m trying to say is we make life harder than it is. We also make it hard for God to want to do anything nice for us. Think about it. You buy somebody a present and they say thank you in that distracted way that makes you know that they’ve found something wrong with the gift or the thank you isn’t from the heart. With your heart slowly sinking you ask them what’s wrong. ‘Nothing’ they reply. ‘However I was just thinking, not that I am not grateful or anything but when you bought this…didn’t they sell so so and so with it?’ As a one off maybe you can overlook it however when this becomes habitual, they wont have to tell you twice before you stop buying anything for that person…period.

That’s how we treat God when we forget to thank Him for life, for health for all the ‘little’ things that we take for granted. Last weekend a 19 year old I knew died. You are alive today. What are you moaning about?

It’s easy to moan about the things we wish we had and the things we wish we could change. All that becomes inconsequential if tomorrow you are no more. I’m not being morbid, just being factual. I remember how much I wanted a car in 2006. I thought my life was lacking something deep. Like how was I supposed to cope without a vehicle in my life? Not from the family fleet but my own ‘pezna moto’. One I could call my own. The thought consumed my days and some nights. I nagged my dad, drawing up pie charts and flow charts to explain to him why it was in his best interest and mine to buy me that car. Well in October that year I came face to face with death and survived. In celebration my dad bought me that car. Guess what? It meant absolutely nothing. Zip. Zilch. Zero. Nothing at all to me. The new lease of life, the gift of more days on this earth…priceless.

So, good people, whatever kind of week you’ve had…you made it through. Its Friday, you’re alive, you’ve eaten, you have a roof over your head, clothes on your back. All that is left is for you to….

Teach me how to dougie

Have a great weekend folks,

x

Posted in: C'est La Vie ?