Perception vs. Reality

Posted on August 19, 2010

6


So this week GT has reached its 100th post. As a matter of fact this is the 101th post. Weehooo! Has it been easy…No. has it been worth it? Yes. I feel like we should give away something….you know to commemorate this occasion. Maybe on the 200th post, yes I’ve written it down so you can hold me to it hehe.

Enough about that. I haven’t really been happy this past week. Lots of stuff going on, you know the usual life hurdles. You know, it takes quite a bit to upset me, especially for this long. I’m not upset by random strangers who do ignorant stuff for the mere reason that I don’t know them and they don’t know me. It makes it easier to forgive them cos ‘they know not what they do’. The ones that send daggers to my soul however are the ones that should know better. Yep you guessed it….friends.

Have you ever been in a situation where you are asked to describe each other and then somebody describes you and you have a ‘what the deuce???’ moment? Yea I had one of those recently. I was described in a way that made me think ‘you don’t really know me at all’. What hurt though was, that was somebody that up till that moment I had thought of as a close friend. As usual that got me thinking.

People are only going to ever see you through their own mirrors. Their perception will always be different from your reality. I like people to be happy with me all the time and so I get upset when they’re not. However I should be old enough to realise that you can’t please everybody. People are gonna think what they want to think anyway. All you can do is your best and hope that it’s good enough. To be honest I started this post with feelings of anger, then sadness and now resignation. It’s tempting to sink into a pool of ‘nobody likes me’ depression when you get news like this [or maybe that’s just me]. However if your like me then you immediately conduct a small survey. ‘If you were to describe me 5 words what would they be?’ If they ask you why you’re asking you say ‘well I’ve been told I’m this, this and this…do you think so?’ If they do then you get the ‘well…I didn’t want to say but…’ Or you may be lucky and get the ‘are you having a laugh???’ response. Thankfully I got the latter.

Now don’t get me wrong. I know who I am. I know what I do. However a big part of me also wants to be understood. I like to explain, I like communication….I like to be on the same page as you. All of this though is dependent on whether or not I like you though or care about your opinion or if you’ve made an effort to try and get to know me. If none of the above applies….then yea…I really don’t give a prostrating pig what you think. That’s probably why I was so hurt by my friend’s comments. If a mad man on the road says to you ‘oi why is your head so big?’ You would probably just look at him and keep moving. If your friend says ‘hmm your head seems unusually large’, then brothers and sisters its time to look in the mirror. However what happens when you look in the mirror and find that your head is still the same size? Then it might be time to refer your friend to Spec savers.

Yes the above is a completely random analogy but I hope you get my point. Perception is a relative concept. Ask any philosopher. It’s true.  So you ask, ‘what are you going to do?’ I’m so glad you asked. I’m going to refer my friend to Spec savers. Obviously somewhere along the line the signals of our friendship have jammed. Its time for us to look through the same mirror…

But you know what?

Better than my mirror or anyone else’s is God’s mirror. He sees me, sees you as perfect and loves you and me with an unfailing love. God loves me more than my own mother. If you knew my mother you would know how deep that statement was. He sees me as awesome, same as you. So if you find yourself in the same situation as I found myself…remember this. Write it on your forehead. There’s a thought: A prize for anybody who can send me a picture of their new ‘God loves me just the way I am’ tattoo. Triple points go to the one who actually gets it on his/her forehead. Trust me the prize will be worth it :-p

That’s me done. Feel free to have a 100th post celebratory drink on us…if you can find us :-).

Have a smashing weekend whatever you do

x

Posted in: C'est La Vie ?