OffBeatMusic: Random Talk on Rick Ross + Chiddy Bang + Kano + The Script

Posted on July 21, 2010

3


Hello YOU… How’s it going? Hope your week’s been going smoothly and that? Erm I’ve actually got nothing for you this week you know, I woke up this morning feeling extremely mash-up & just feeling really sick & as it goes, I can’t really function or concentrate on anything if I’m being honest SO in essence, I will be all over the place today, often going off on a tangent or segway BUT please stay with me, I will definitely be sharing some music with you although I do NOT know what that music will be…

Really & Truly not many things I’ve heard or seen over the week in Mainstream Music have made me wanna come here and share with you so I’m in two minds about whether to… I dunno! I lost my train of thought on that one (allow me mehn!) but what I was gonna say (iThink) was errr I might just share some random music with you instead of strictly what’s new in the week…

Talking about what’s new in the week though… The 1st thing worth mentioning is Rick Ross’s ‘Teflon Don’ album that is out now & which you should definitely get your hands on (via iTunes). It is a very good album, I will be getting my copy once the day job pays me but from the 8 or 9 records I’ve heard so far, please allow me to say that it’s an epic album! Lemme see if I can find something for you to listen to from this album…

Rick Ross + Jay-Z + John Legend – Free Mason

That record right there is one of my favorite records on the album and at the moment! You already know I’m a huge fan of Shawn Carter and his verse on that record not only addresses the ‘illuminati’ rumours, although I am sure it will definitely NOT kill the rumours because we know how we all are, but also the verse just goes HARD regardless! Very dope record… Right below we’re gonna let Mr. Ross tell us how the record came about

“He backed it up, & played it again… He backed it up, & played it again… He backed it up, & he spit his verse” – Rick Ross

I’m not even gonna comment on that quote, it’s f**king ridiculous! Check out this other longer footage of Rick Ross talking about the above record with MTV via this LINK which I personally found quite interesting! The rumours will not stop though but I’m glad he said something about it & oh by the way, Shawn Carter aka Jay-Z made $63 million over the last 12 months (the only rapper on the recent Forbes Musicians Rich-List) BUT alas I digress (the first of many digressions today) because we’re talking about the ‘Teflon Don’ album…

Here’s another record I’m feeling while we’re here

Rick Ross + Kanye West – Live Fast Die Young

I honestly do NOT know what ‘Teflon Don’ will do numbers-wise in its first week but Rick Ross has always done well on his 1st week sales previously (over 150,000 easily) and there’s been some talk about this album possibly doing the 200,000 mark but we’ll have to see! In any case, we at ‘OffBeat’ are #teamRickRoss & remember we do not represent the views of GlamTings Online Magazine (lol! I always see people say that & it usually sounds kool so yeah!)

Moving on from that, I just stumbled unto some new visuals from Hip-Hop duo Chiddy Bang for ‘Dream Chasin’ off of their Swelly Express mixtape, on Pigeons & Planes! If you read my article last week on the NEA Awards, you’ll have seen their names being mentioned… Well they are dope as f**k and we’ll get to the video in a minute but I need you to understand how dope these guys are! Download any of their mixtapes, Air Swell or Swelly Express, and you’ll understand & then go & buy their ‘Opposites of Adults’ EP to show your support of good music! I hear the album is coming soon & I cannot wait. Aight peep the video right below then…

“You could get notoriety and still ride the train!” – Chiddy Bang

Aight then, I think this is where I call it a day this week, I know I aint shared much music with you but as I said earlier, I’m not really here right now & I aint even lieing to ya…

Oh wait one second! Kano, one of my favorite UK mainstream emcees has some new visuals out for his latest single ‘Upside’ featuring Michelle Breeze, off of his ‘Method to the Maadness’ (yeah its two As, I didn’t spell it incorrectly!). Did I mention that I like this record very much! It’s so far gone (& better) than anything these UK mainstream supposed emcees are doling out so hope you enjoy this one as much as I did… The album should be really good as I’m hearing it’s his best work to date but I’ll wait to hear it myself. ‘Home Sweet Home’ will be hard to top is all i’m saying!

… And The Script, the band behind ‘The Man Who Can’t Be Moved’, the one record that reminds me the most of my heart-break earlier in February. I remember this song coming on on my blackberry mp3 player numerous times over the last few months & me simply shutting down or screaming out the words of this song almost in bits BUT alas I digress AGAIN (Sorry about that).

So where was I? Oh yeah The Script have a new record out titled ‘For The First Time’ that’s officially released in September, check it out below… & Check out ‘The Man Who Can’t Be Moved’ below that!

‘I’m not moving… I’m NOT Moving!’ – The Script

The thing though is I am trying to move…

That was a bad idea playing that record just now

Until the Next Time…

Peace, Love & GOOD Music

Posted in: OffBeat