At first I was Afraid, I was Petrified….

Posted on July 1, 2010

2


Every time I sing that song in my head I always end it with the high pitched scream…just like now. Somehow the song is not complete without the scream. It just isn’t.

Sometimes I look at my life and I wonder. I wonder if Bill Gates, Simon Cowell and Sir Alan Sugar feel the way I do. As these are people I look up to, it is important for me to discover the answer to this question. Here’s one for you Mr. Cowell…do you ever wake up in the morning and ask yourself where am I and what on earth am I doing? When did I become this person that people pay rapt attention to? You probably don’t, you smug son of a gun (I say this in Christian love of course).
What you may ask is the reason for this rant? Pardon me I seem to be doing quite a bit of this nowadays tis the season in my life. Now don’t get me wrong I love my life, I love this season. In fact I prayed for this season so I am most grateful that it has arrived. Now that we’ve got that out of the way, in case you have missed the last few posts of mine, let me refresh your memory. Read here, here and here. You see, I find myself in a bit of a quandary. Right now I hate being an adult. Shocking. I know. I shake my head at myself. Yea I did it before you could.
Do you blame me though? Long summer days spent basking in the fluorescent light of my office. Long hours waiting for my colleague to bring me the lunch I had begged for from Subways, only for the sandwich to come and there’s no cheese and it hasn’t been toasted #epicfail. End of the month comes and you watch your salary being distributed to its true owners. Sometimes I think I might be better off working for the Queen or for charity. One might argue that I already do. Isn’t adulthood delightful?
As much as I would like to continue with this train of thought that is not why I started this post. Yes it has taken me 4 paragraphs to get to my point. My post is about the N word. Yep you guessed it, Networking. Hi Mighty meet … So so and so they do so so and so. Hi my name is Mighty and I do so so and so. Here’s my card perhaps I can send you a brochure or drop you an email. Simple? Ok fair enough. Tell me oh brilliant somebody what you do on the days when you don’t feel like smiling, when you have been waiting for that sandwich and you are beginning to see human burgers all around, when the heat has fried your last brain cells? Oh you are beyond that are you? Ok what about when you are asked to speak to a director of a company who has foreboding eyebrows a la Mr. Big of Sex and the City? Or when you have to make a phone call or send a Linkedn email to somebody who is not expecting your email or call? Yes networking has its cold call aspects. Sigh.

However all moaning and whingeing aside, networking is the way to go. So many times in my new role, I have tried the traditional route of knocking on doors, sending emails, direct mail and multiple phone calls…all to no avail. However all it takes is for a client to walk in the door and say ‘Oh I know so, so and so in that company, I’ll introduce you’ and voila! The doors magically open and the elevators take you straight to the top floor! It’s almost like magic [if I believed in magic of course…which I don’t…naturally]

So what must I do? What do I do? I do what I must to get ahead. I paste that smile on my face, insert that twinkle in my eye and with my insides quaking and my outside confident; I introduce myself. First name Mighty, Last name Mouse.

I will survive.

MM

Posted in: C'est La Vie ?