Bless the Broken Road

Posted on June 3, 2010

12


I love Rascal Flatts that’s a given and it’s also a given that their song Bless the broken road will feature at my wedding. It’s very easy to gripe and complain at the seeming dearth of good men. However colour me optimistic but I know there are good men out there. All men are not dogs or the b word. Just as with anything in life there will be those foxes that spoil the vine. These foxes are on both sides of the fence mind.  Before I lose you and ultimately myself in this metaphor let me use this example. I recently read a blog post from a girl who obviously was a kid who thinks they have seen life but have absolutely no clue. Having titled the post ‘Relationship advice’ she proceeded to tell her audience that every guy has a girlfriend and as the ratio of guys to girls is 1:20, guys with girlfriends are fair game. Thus single girls should be willing to divest these men of their girlfriends by doing stuff better than the current girl.

No, its ok you are not confused or reading double. Yes I said a girl said that. She actually wrote it. Not only did she write it but she gave an example of a friend who is now married.  This friend said her now husband had a girl friend when they met but she wasn’t bothered instead concentrated on becoming wifey and she ousted the incumbent girl friend from her position in 2 months. Oh wow, forgive me if I forget to cheer you on. After all what you just said made so much sense to you when you were typing it.

Is it just me??? I’m I the only one who sees how wrong this is??? After wedding what next? Oh you didn’t think that far did you? Furthermore trust that if you got ‘your’ man by shady means you’re gonna constantly have to watch your back. To put it succinctly ‘Karma is a [insert the b word here]’. I think the problem with this world is that people just don’t think deep enough. Either that or they are just plain selfish but I don’t think that’s it. I think it’s probably the former. I think if people thought deeper they’d realise that these short term rewards lead to long term pain. Meeen, marriage is not a joke. Ask anybody who is married and if they are honest enough they should tell you. It’s an intense game of give and take, of compromise and understanding. If you have the misfortune of snagging a man who was fickle enough to ditch his girlfriend for you then even if you manage to clutch onto him till the wedding day how are you gonna sustain his attention afterwards? There is always gonna be somebody who is hotter than you, funnier, better in the kitchen and a gymnast in the bedroom…you will run down….

It’s not a sign of ‘sharpness’ to nick a man off a fellow woman. Let me digress off my digression from the initial topic. This is one reason why I respect men. The Bro’s code. We’ve come across it yes? When a guy is looked at like a douche when he makes a move on a friend’s girl or sister. Guys take this stuff seriously. Not girls. No girls we are our worst enemies. Worse still with this so called new ‘miss independent’ bs they will tell you to your face. ‘Yea like any man is fair game until he has a ring on his finger’….WAKA [in English, Yo Momma]. Make God no punish you. Did I say before that karma was a bizzatch? Well let me repeat…karma is a bizzatch.

Is there any point in talking about the guy foxes that spoil the vine? I’m thinking not, we’ve read all the ‘I hate men’ blogs so I’m hoping we are already familiar with the evil that some men do. I’ll also save the gist about those who suffer from ‘foot in mouth’ disease for another post. Let me return to the initial point of this post. When on that day soon I’m making my commitment to that wonderful man of God that God has kept for me, no words shall be truer than these:

I set out on a narrow way, many years ago
Hoping I would find true love along the broken road
But I got lost a time or two
Wiped my brow and kept pushing through
I couldn’t see how every sign pointed straight to you

Every long lost dream led me to where you are
Others who broke my heart, they were like northern stars
Pointing me on my way into your loving arms
This much I know is true

That God blessed the broken road
That led me straight to you

MM

Posted in: C'est La Vie ?