#MusicMonday… The 52nd Annual GRAMMY Awards

Posted on February 2, 2010

3


So last night (January 31st, 2010), 25.8 Million viewers tuned in to catch the 52nd Annual Grammy Awards, Unfortunately I wasn’t one of them SO I won’t bore you with the frivolous details… However, what you should know is that Beyonce came through and CRUSHED the building by winning a female record 0f 6 Grammy Awards on the night… The Foreign Exchange should have WON that Urban/Alternative Grammy award instead of India.Arie… What was Flo Rida’s R.O.O.T.S doing in the Best Rap Album category?.. & While we’re on Rap (Hip-Hop), big homie Jay-Z went home with 3 Grammies (hi haters)… The year’s Best Gospel Song – Mary Mary’s ‘God in Me’ is such a banging tune, I’m glad it won an award… I was also glad to see that Michael J. Fox won the Best Spoken Word Album award for ‘Always Looking Up’, the album was inspirational as well as humorous… Taylor Swift’s ‘Fearless’ for Album of the Year though? I’m NOT quite sure I can ever understand the reasoning behind this, EVER… & How comes I haven’t heard of this year’s Best New Artiste, Zac Brown Band, atleast I know who the other nominees are?!?!

I dunno about the Grammys these days to be honest BUT who am I to judge or even complain! It still is the BIGGEST night of Music every year and the awards are still the most important in Music so I really should stop hating and just get with the program, shouldn’t I? Well if they stopped making S**T decisions, it’d be so much easier though, wouldn’t it? & they need to start giving more TV time to the Hip-Hop awards (I dunno why they still call it Rap? Or is it just me?)

Let’s get right into what would have been my favorite parts of the Grammy Awards… After the Jump, shall we?

Check out the list of (Relevant to #OffBeat) Winners right after the JUMP…

Album of the Year: Taylor Swift – ‘Fearless’

Record of the Year: Kings of Leon – ‘Use Somebody’

Song of the Year: Beyonce  – ‘Single Ladies’

Best New Artist: Zac Brown Band

Best R&B Song: Beyonce – ‘Single Ladies’

Contemporary R&B Album: Beyonce – ‘I Am…Sasha Fierce’

Best R&B Album: Maxwell – ‘BLACKSummers’night’

Best Male R&B Vocal Performance: Maxwell – ‘Pretty Wings’

Best Female R&B Vocal Performance: Beyonce – ‘Single Ladies’

Best Traditional R&B Vocal Performance: Beyonce – ‘At Last’

Best Male Pop Vocal Performance: Jason Mraz – ‘Make It Mine’

Best Female Pop Vocal Performance: Beyonce – Halo

Best Pop Collaboration With Vocals: Jason Mraz & Colbie Caillat – ‘Lucky’

Best Pop Vocal Album: Black Eyed Peas – ‘The E.N.D’

Best Urban/Alternative Performance: India Arie & Dobet Gnahore – Pearls

Best Rap Album: Emimen – ‘Relapse’

Best Rap Song: Jay-Z, Rihanna & Kanye West – ‘Run This Town’

Best Rap/Sung Collaboration: Jay-Z, Rihanna & Kanye West – ‘Run This Town’

Best Rap Performance By a Duo or Group: Eminem, Dr. Dre & 50 Cent – ‘Crack a Bottle’

Best R&B Performance by a Duo or Group With Vocals: Jamie Foxx & T-Pain – ‘Blame It’

Best Dance Recording: Lady GaGa – ‘Poker Face’

& For the full LIST of Winners, click HERE

So what do you make of this year’s Grammy Awards? Like I said, I didn’t watch it BUT if you did, do Let’s HAVE it!

Until the Next Time…

Triple A (Obviously NOT as interested in the Grammys as I should be)

Posted in: OffBeat