Getting Back in the Game

Posted on January 22, 2010

3


So I went away for the Christmas holidays, was a great experience plus it helped me get my mojo back. It was good to know I’ve still got ‘it’ [lmao yup I can be a bit of an idiot I know]. On a serious note though its like males can smell the singledom lol and they begin to circle like a pack of wolves. It’s flattering no word of a lie but it’s also very scary.

Sometimes I wish I was 19 again or maybe even 17 so I could date and not care if I was making a mistake or without wondering if this person was what I wanted in a life partner. Now I do not have the luxury. When I meet somebody now, it goes beyond how attractive the person is. He instantly becomes graded by a whole plethora of qualities. Does he fear God, is he responsible, does he have a sense of humour…does he COMMUNICATE…oh don’t even get me started on communication…I better walk away from that one right now…

Anyway as I was saying even if he seems like he meets some of the qualities or maybe even most…as nobody is perfect…there is the fear…

Anybody who has had a long term relationship end abruptly should know what I’m talking about. Shoot, anybody who has had a break up should know what I mean. Its the fear of the unknown, fear of investing time and effort in a new relationship and not being able to see…not being able to predict if it will be the last bus stop or no. Also as you begin to get over the former relationship and your rose tinted glasses begin to clear up…you stop and think…What an utter idiot! And that reference also includes you. As you begin to realize the things you lovingly swept under the carpet of ‘nobody is perfect’ would have ruined whatever illusion of sanity you were desperately trying to hang on to. So while you are filled with praise to God for saving you from yourself…you begin to wonder can your judgment really be trusted? How will you know if he is the one? They all start of the same way…how do you know which one is a keeper?

Furthermore there are other factors, factors that are beyond your control…plus the very effort of opening up to someone new, having the same arguments but with a different person…thinking to yourself why o why do I have to cover this ground again?

All these thoughts are enough to put you off dating for life. Until the new guy asks you how a meeting at work that you mentioned in passing went. He holds your hand and walks in front of you to ‘protect’ you from whatever dangers lie around. Eventually one day/someday [lol] down the line he uhmns and ahhss and then tell you he loves you…

Being with someone new has its advantages…hopefully some other girl has schooled him well so your arguments are minimal…or compared to the ex you’re right up there with the angels…

Furthermore you might also discover that in this new relationship you have a far better deal than you could have ever imagined. An answer to prayer even…
However there’s only one thing that must be done…

And that’s take the first step…

Posted in: C'est La Vie ?