Good Genes or Good Jeans?

Posted on January 20, 2010

1


Hello Darlings! Happy new year from me [it’s my very first entry this year]. Hope 2010 has been great so far. For me, it just feels like a continuation of 2009. Nothing is new, nothing is special. But that’s just me!

So, to the issue. Jeans. A wardrobe staple that every wardrobe just has to have. But one that is so hard to buy. The right pair of jeans can enhance your body, and the wrong pair ____!  I was thinking to myself that I need to get new jeans. I stay away from jeans when I can; but a lot of the time they’re the most convenient thing to throw on. I’ll rather wear skirts, shorts, leggings (even jeggins), and dresses most times (when the weather permits). Anyway, I started thinking “when is my next trip to America?”; because like most people I buy ALL my jeans from one particular store. I bought two a few months ago from a different store and they’ve been sitting in my closet most of the time. In fact, one pair still has the tags on.

I am now challenging myself to find different jeans from different stores that will actually have the right fit – you see; that’s the other problem. Whenever I try on jeans from any other store; if the bum fits, the waist is too big – if the waist fits, the bum is too tight. But I’m now going to look for jeans outside of my comfort zone, that I can actually like and wear. What store? What cut? Etc. It’s a hassle, isn’t it?

I found an interesting website, My True Fit – you basically enter your measurements, pick you style preferences; and it shows you your jeans fit(s) that you can the buy [from a wide range of designers and brands; they basically have most major jeans brands]. And they say “Four out of five people experience difficulty when shopping for jeans”, so don’t feel left out (I certainly don’t).

The Options?

1. Skinny Jeans

I think there are also different degrees of ‘skinny’. Some are super-skinny, while others are not so skinny.  Some are also really stretchy, while others aren’t. It all depends on what you really want.

L-R: Diesel Livvy Skinny Jeans £50 (was 100), 7 for all Mankind Roxanne Skinny Distressed Jeans £200, G-Star Braced Rip And Repair Skinny Jeans £120, ASOS High Waisted Indigo Slim Jeans £30

2. Straight jeans


L-R: Acne from asos.com £70 (was 155), 7 For All Mankind £149, Citizens of Humanity £179, Rag & Bone £185

3. Bootcut Jeans


L-R: 7 For All Mankind £195, Levi’s £69, K Karl Lagerfeld from The Outnet £55 (was 110), J Brand from the Outnet £90.50 (was 181)

4. Flare Jeans


L-R: Active Wear £40, French Connection: Asos Outlet £15 (was 28), Twenty8Twelve £106.28 (was 213.45), Small Town £120.57

You could also try wide leg jeans, super flare jeans, low rise jeans, high waist jeans, & baggy jeans. Getting the right wash, and fabric is also important. Some can be really uncomfortable, so it is important to invest in the right pair so they can serve you for a long long time.

Well, ladies (& gentlemen), let’s toast to a great year full of great style & inspiration.

Peace, Kisses, & Love.

D.

Tagged:
Posted in: The F Word